Tags

, , , , ,

Al Gore's speech on Global Warming at the Univ...

Image via Wikipedia

I’ve just finished watching Al Gore’s An Inconvenient Truth. It has been on my to-do list for a while, but until now haven’t found myself in the right mood to sit down and watch a serious documentary about scary things happening, not so much in the future as right now. Whenever I’m particularly stressed or anxious my taste in movies and literature tends towards the lighter end of the spectrum, usually of the Chick-Flic persuasion (it is a constant trial to S).

So, with the house nice and clean after H and R’s visit, almost at the end of my wool supply, and leftovers taking up space in the fridge to delay more cooking adventures, I felt like I had no option but to watch something on the telly, and decided to make it more worthwhile than watching re-runs of Gossip Girl (<3).

I’m not going to regurgitate the statistics and graphs that make up the compelling truth that Gore presents in his finely honed, slick performance. You can find them all here. But I will say it doesn’t leave much wiggle room for people who would deny our need to act.

What boggles my mind is the number of people who prefer to accept as fact the opinions of people without scientific background or credibility, rather than the groups of scientists who have collected, analysed and published data after having undergone the rigorous scrutiny of other scientists in the peer-review process. When it comes to Australian politics, using science to make arguments has become a bad thing, somehow elitist.

Here endeth the political rant.

More personally, I would say I’m guilty of keeping the topic of climate change on the backburner in my mind. And I have all sorts of excuses for not making some small changes to reduce my carbon emissions (cue – S chortling over fart double entendre). Like being scared of suffering a traumatic brain injury if I take up cycling for example. Another difficulty is that we are currently renting, and probably a little way off home ownership. There’s not much we can do about the amount of insulation, or the glazing, or even getting heavy curtains with pelmets rather than the exceedingly ugly venetian blinds, or the source of energy we use.

We have a little dream, though, of building a house of our own. Ideally on a small patch of semi-rural land (still needs to have fast internet and mobile coverage), with good water supply, good climate with 4 distinct seasons (although I don’t mind if winter is under-emphasised). And the house would be built sustainably, and as close to passive as possible. Maybe not even passive, but positive. S, being the nerd that he is, gets very excited about solar and wind energy, and ground source heating. There’s so much good technology out there that can be used in every day building. And we’ll keep a couple of goats for milking (and cheese!), and chooks for their eggs, and grow our own vegies.

Of course, we’ll also have exciting and fulfilling careers with extremely flexible working hours as well and be able to find time to be amazing parents to our beautiful and well-behaved children.

Too much to ask??

