Tags

, , , ,

20110903-113106.jpgS went up to the Big City for a workshop this week, so I channeled my pinings into a lovely loaf of bread. Actually two loaves, but I ate one before getting around to taking a photo. So delicious straight out of the oven.

This time I used a different flour – a “light whole wheat” which isn’t entirely white, but is less heavy than the proper whole wheat flour.

I used a Dan Lepard recipe for a white loaf, but due to aforementioned laziness and inability to follow a recipe to the letter, and the fact that I only started making the dough in the evening, so didn’t have all day to knead and prove, the process ended up being quite different.

I started making the dough at about 8PM, by mixing starter, flour, water and salt together quickly. Then I let it sit for about 15 minutes for the flour to hydrolyze (Science + breadmaking!), then gave it a quick knead, turning the dough about 15 times. I repeated the knead at about the 30, 60, 90 minute mark, and hourly for a couple of hours, by which stage it was getting quite late and I had to get up in the morning for an operating list. So, following some recommendations on the trusty Sourdough Companion, I popped it in the fridge overnight.

The next morning I turned up to the hospital to discover the surgeon’s secretary had told me the wrong time, and the operating list didn’t start til 1PM, so I headed back home, took the dough out of the fridge, shaped into 2 loaves and left it for about 2 hours to prove next to the column heater. Despite the fact it hadn’t risen that much, it went into the oven at maximum temp, which according to the dial is 240 deg. C, and cooked for 60 minutes. I popped a little pyrex dish with a bit of water in as well to create some steam.

The loaves rose a fair bit in the oven, and sounded nice a hollow by 60 minutes. Still quite a moist crumb, and I’m going to have to practice my slashing techniques – I don’t think it was deep enough. The bread is still fairly heavy, but less stodgy than the last loaf, and I gotta say, so tasty! I would also say “more-ish” just to annoy S, who thinks the word doesn’t exist in that form, but should be spelt “Moorish”, as in, originating from the Moors. (I posit that More-ish and Moorish are homonyms, meaning completely different things).

We just polished off most of the loaf in the photo for breakfast – topped with avocado and scrambled eggs, with a little sprinkling of freshly grated parmesan. Mm-mm.

Anyone who wishes to back me up on the More-ish/Moorish controversy is most welcome to post below (keeping in mind that I’ll only publish comments that support my position – this blog is not a democracy šŸ™‚ ).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

