Tags

, , ,

I haven’t posted in a while. It’s all part of the burying my head in the sand and ignoring my job predicament.

It’s gotten to the point where I received two emails – one requesting references for a job for next year, and the other containing a letter of offer for said job (honestly, do admin types talk to each other?), and I’ve ignored both of them. I can’t quit bring myself to press “accept” on the offer link, and if I have to go grovelling to yet another boss for references I think I’ll scream. I mean, I’ve worked at this place for the last 3.5 years with consistently high performance reviews – can’t they just look them up in my file?

I’m whinging, I know. Obviously they’ve got their bureaucratic boxes to tick. I just don’t know what I want.

On the other hand, I do know that I want carrot cake, more often than not.

Here’s my recipe, adapted from a link I found online to a recipe that originally came from Donna Hay:

Carrot Cake

  • 1 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup oil (I used olive oil because that’s all we have – the olive taste gets degraded by the heat in the oven, so fear not – your cake will not taste like antipasto)
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp bicarb soda
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • 3 cups grated carrot – I don’t bother peeling them. I find that three average sized carrots will yield 3 cups.

Preheat oven at 180dC.

Stir sugar and oil together, add eggs and mix well. Add dry ingredients and combine. Add carrots.

Pour into greased 22cm tin, bake for 50-60 minutes until it springs back on top.

I’m lazy when it comes to baking, so even though the original called for sifting and beating etc, my preference is to just whack everything in a bowl, stir it through and throw it in the oven. I haven’t tried the proper way to compare, but this turns out so well, I just can’t see room for much improvement.

I was going to make a yummy cream cheese icing for this, but couldn’t be bothered walking the 50 metres across the road to the supermarket for cream cheese, so instead improvised by inventing my own…

Lemon Yoghurt Cream

  • Single cream and natural yoghurt, in a 1:1 ratio
  • juice and zest of 1 lemon
  • icing sugar (to taste)

Whip the cream (naughty dairy product that it is), beating the juice, zest and sugar through at the same time. Fold in the yoghurt.

To Serve: Dollop on top of still-warm carrot cake with reckless abandon. Find somewhere to sit down before tasting, and make sure you’re not surrounded by people who will be disturbed by your moans of ecstasy. 🙂

